My Friend Has to Ask Her Boyfriend to Make Time for Her

Here’s my take on that.

Colleen Sheehy Orme
Heart Affairs
Published in
4 min readMay 16, 2024

--

Photo by Summer Stock: On Pexels

“It doesn’t feel good,” says my friend. “Having to ask someone to make time for you.”

“I don’t know,” I say. “I have a knee-jerk reaction for you but I’m not sure it applies to your situation.”

“What?” she asks.

“If a man doesn’t want to see me,” I say. “My self-respect kicks in, and my feelings for him kick out. It’s pretty instantaneous.”

“I don’t know what to do,” she says.

“I don’t necessarily know what to tell you to do,” I say. “He’s a good man, and I know he’s crazy about you. He just has a lot on his plate.”

It’s true.

This man is my friend.

He’s kind, caring, empathetic, generous, and loving. You would be hard-pressed to say a bad thing about him. He’s a wonderful father. He’s got a good career.

He’s one of my favorite people.

It doesn’t mean I don’t feel my friend’s pain.

I do.

“It feels lonely,” she says.

“I get it,” I say. “I was married to a man who made me feel lonely.”

“So was I,” she says.

--

--

Colleen Sheehy Orme
Heart Affairs

National Relationship Columnist, Journalist & Former Business Columnist. I cover love, life, & relationships— #WomanResurrected colleen.sheehy.orme@gmail.com