My Heartfelt Advice To Any Woman Having An Affair With A Married Man

I know this is not what you want to hear.

Michelle Brown
Heart Affairs
Published in
4 min readJan 15, 2020

--

(Source: Unsplash)

I once wrote an article about my experience falling in love with a married man. It’s not something I’m proud of but it’s something I choose not to feel shame for anymore, especially after all these years.

However, along with that article came an outpouring of stories and experiences from other women about their affairs with married men. The response was overwhelming.

The women who have reached out to me are not heartless. These are women who are searching for solace and closure.

So many women who have written to me asking for advice feel trapped in agony wondering how they got to this dark place and trying to figure out a way to extract themselves without causing or feeling even more pain than they already have.

Well, I have advice for any woman out there who has found herself in the regrettable position of being the “other woman.”

My advice is to walk away.

I know you’re afraid of feeling more pain but the pain of staying with someone who most likely will not divorce their spouse or change their life in any way to suit your needs will end up being far worse down the road.

--

--

Michelle Brown
Heart Affairs

Coffee Shop Gypsy. Word Practitioner. Editor of Heart Affairs + more... Like what I write? You can find more at my Substack https://ponderingnook.substack.com/