The Pleasure of Water

What Died As Spousal Abuse Grew.

Poppy Nagano
Published in
6 min readMar 7, 2021

--

Photo by Roberto Nickson

The feeling of taking a hot bath is something that I savor.

I love sinking into the bathtub, feeling water envelop my body.

The water casts off the world and the world becomes the tub. Everything disappears; time stops marching forward for the duration of the bath.

Serenity and a sense of pleasure embrace me.

I enjoyed baths like this for more than thirty years.

I remember the period in my life when this pleasure disappeared. Repeated baths, where I laid in the water baffled by the lack of sensation. I felt the water, but I lost the feeling of pleasure. Water was touching me, but my response to water was missing.

This was a major red flag of the many red flags, I saw them but I didn’t know what they meant and when I did know what they meant, I didn’t know how to respond.

If I were to look back, I think I had probably lost a lot of pleasure in various arenas in life, but the bath being a particular sense experience, I couldn’t help notice.

When I lost the sensation of pleasure in baths, I was married; life was extremely stressful. My days were explosions of crises. My life of being single, organized, having agency and order had been annihilated.

--

--

Poppy Nagano
Heart Affairs

Researcher, cat mom, heirloom vegetable obsessed gardener.