photos from the collection of melynda thorpe burt, peru 2012

On Top of The World

As we ascend the Andes Mountains, I consider all the roads I have traveled that have led me here

--

Part 4 in a series following: https://medium.com/heart-of-the-andes/a75615be746c

September 23

On Monday we hike the ruins at Machu Picchu and I feel like I am on top of the world. I even do a little top of the world dance when we reach the peak of the trail. This is an amazing experience for me. Looking at all things behind me, considering the roads I have traveled that have led me here. Silently, I celebrate my sons and loved ones, dear friends who have helped me, lifted me, encouraged me to reach this very place. Yes, top of the world.

A favorite sight at Machu Picchu was watching the llama wander through the ancient Inca ruins as though they belong. They do.

Before we make our way to the Heart Walk communities, Penelope introduces us to several important spiritual and historical sites, including ruins of the great Inca Empire at Olantytambo and Machu Picchu.

We stayed in the delightful town of Ollantaytambo Saturday evening where we toured the Inca ruins there and learned of important legends and history of the area. Penelope is inducting us as if by fire, running from one important cultural experience to the next.

This trip represents a milestone for the great accomplishments of Heart Walk Foundation established by Tim and Penelope.I learn as we travel about how in 2003, the seeds for Heart Walk Foundation were planted when the Eichers from southern Utah were traveling in Peru and happened into the shop of musical instrument collector. From him, they learned of the Q’ero tribes who were suffering high in the mountains above. Five hundred years ago, this people had fled to the mountains to avoid captivity during the Spanish invasion, and there they remained. Cut off from time and place, protected. As a collector of instruments on the high Inca Trail, he knew of the suffering of this disregarded people who were starving without help or concern from the Peruvian government.

He told the Eichers how the Q’ero tribal leaders had recently descended the mountain and approached the Peruvian government in desperation for help to save their people from starving. Their only source of nourishment, potato crops were failing and their people were ill and hungry. The government did not respond.

“We can’t just leave and let this happen,” she tells me she said to Tim as they left the shop in Cusco that day. “We have friends, and we can help.”

Rain Sundberg of St. George, Utah

Upon arriving home, Penelope tells me how she and Tim began gathering resources and supporters to help the people of the Hapu Q’ero villages of the Andes Mountains in Peru. Having established relationships over the past ten years, Tim and Penelope lead an organization that offers assistance for the Q’ero people so they can remain in their beloved mountain homes, see their children become the first generation to attend school, and attain food security. And to do so with dignity.

David Jamieson of Seattle, Wash.

Today, the Q’ero people benefit from three Heart Walk-funded schools, trout farms and greenhouses in their high mountain tribal villages. Penelope tells me how Heart Walk Foundation is helping the people learn to provide for themselves (self-sustaining) and that they are finding hope and joy in seeing their children become educated. In addition to the three schools, the Foundation is also providing funding and assistance to two other schools in the Q’ero Territories and is laying the groundwork to provide much-needed medical services for the Q’ero mountain dwellers.

Michelle Snook of Hurricane, Utah

I love talking with Penelope as we travel from one village and ancient Inca ruin to the next. The more I learn, the more eager I am to meet members of this traditional tribe, and to tell the story of how Heart Walk Foundation stepped in to help when no one else would.

Again, our hearts collectively grow with each experience as does our love for this land. I am looking forward to arriving at the Heart Walk Foundation school, meeting children and leaders of the Q’ero tribe, and to begin filming. What a beautiful story I have been gifted to tell. How grateful I am for every experience and path I have taken that has led me here.

The group of us come together with a united purpose: to serve the Q’ero with our individual and collective talents and desire to help

Continue the series with part 5: https://medium.com/heart-of-the-andes/605cdbcf4df7

For more information about the film, go to heartoftheandes.org

In case you missed:

Part 1 can be found at: https://medium.com/heart-of-the-andes/6a005fbeaf

Part 2 at: https://medium.com/heart-of-the-andes/c38bca5c7485

Part 3 at: https://medium.com/heart-of-the-andes/a75615be746c

--

--