POETRY | Self

Darkness and Light

Peace and calm are all I want

Prativa Vaidya Bhalla
Heart Revolution
Published in
2 min readJun 6, 2022

--

Everything seems mired in a dark haze
A vicious never-ending maze
With neither a beginning nor an end
It goes round and round till emotions rend
Will this roundabout confusing and grey, never stop?
The light shimmering, ebbing and disappearing a lot
Peace and calm are all I want
And it is the only thing that plays truant
Sometimes tears come rushing down
Sometimes all that remains, is a steely frown
Will I never be free of this quagmire of guilt?
The criticisms in my head carry on as I slowly wilt
The last vestiges of strength to pull myself up from the bog
The greyness and guilt hit me each time I think I have won the jog
I often find myself wandering in places unknown
But I know that I have to stay on the path that is mine and mine alone
I have to be strong and hold myself up
Strong and steady, eye on the winner’s cup
Having you by my side helps me survive
Just your presence helps me thrive
So here my friend, hold my hand
While I keep my eye on the ever disappearing land
I know now I will make it ashore
Buoyed up by your love, it is no longer a chore

--

--

Prativa Vaidya Bhalla
Heart Revolution

Content Writer. Specializing in internal monologues and Walter Mittyesque wonderings. Day job -Travel website Editor. Love the unfolding magic of written words.