GPS Algorithms

Neera Handa Dr
Heart Revolution
Published in
2 min readMay 21, 2024

--

wheels of capitalism

Photo by Antony Freitas on Unsplash

Algorithms, the God given directions,
demand that we follow them
everywhere, anywhere!

While travelling in India recently,
I realised,
how the wheels of capitalism go!
Straight or around,
round and round,
depending on such and such,
and so and so!

“Ask that man!
standing at the railway gate”,
I yelled at the driver.

“But madam, the GPS says another 10 k straight,
and then turn left at the divider”.

“But they, at the restaurant had said
it’s only 10 k to our destination”.

“Well, the GPS says straight 10 k, then
left at the Kohli service station.”

“Stop!” I yelled, “straight away!!”
“Ask him!
I want to buy some guavas, any way”!

Slicing the fruit, his movements deft,
the guava man insists “turn left!”
“All my life, I have lived here",
the way to Gwalior used to be always
through my village.
See, this road, if you took it,
in 10 mints…

--

--

Neera Handa Dr
Heart Revolution

Top writer in poetry & Sustainability, compulsive writer, reading, writing just about anything. I write daily, have published a PhD, a book & academic articles.