POETRY

Spiritual Bliss

Self Mastery

Shireen Sinclair
Heart Revolution

--

Photo by form PxHere

Once upon a colorful mornin’
As I dawned upon my failings
On those church gates so forlorn
Life was but an empty song

I heard those church bells ringin’
Those colorful birdies chirpin’
Each as if somewhat sayin’
Life’s too short, keep lovin’

The angel I felt was near
Whispering words unclear
Asking me to forgive that maiden
Who left me at those church gates waitin’

And that teacher always screamin’
Those comments demotivatin’
Those children always laughin’
My puny self deep buryin’

Those hands me molestin’
Or lying mouths blamin’
My parents falsely another trustin’
Guilty feelings I had bore

While inner peace I was wantin’
I heard this eerie voice chantin’
Laden with serenity so calm
Sweeping me without alarm

Oh that moment t’was so queer
My unsure self without cheer
But that stranger who stood near
Moving her lips in prayer

Transformed the aura to austere
Kept my curious self in fear
Drowning my battles since yore
In a newfound skin secure

As I foresaw my quest
My sordid self brimming with zest
My thoughts not often occasion
With such veracity someone unknown

As I tried not to burden
My perplexed self with such obsession
But those moments were so woven
I tried, but could not ignore

My contempt came to the cessation
My aching heart succumbed to redemption
The service facilitated emancipation
Drowning hurt without remorse

I fell into that alluring feeling
I knew not what I was bequeathing
As if my fortunes had been changing
Positivity filled those doors

That innuendo so perplexing
Created in me a yearning
To acquire that spirit so fulfillin’
Blinded faith I had reposed

Soon occasioned by words revealing,
Often not to my utmost pleasing
Spiritual bliss I wanted to smother
On my heart that was so dour

This beatitude I could grasp
Thanks to this solemn lass
For my inexorable hollow
This was inspiration encore

And with time I learned to kill,
Infirmities of my human will
Faith above all instills
Gratitude above all furor

With the Supreme being I share my sorrow
Kindle hopes for the morrow
Life now has a meanin’
As I deal with daily chores

Shireen is an avid writer, budding Opera singer, apprentice nurse, dog sitter, dog walker, walker…. Jack of all trades and master of one — Mother to two children aged 8 and 10!

--

--

Shireen Sinclair
Heart Revolution

Artist, mother, writer, immigrant, nurse, seasoned struggler, struggling my way here to motivate others to accept change and start afresh at any point in life.