Makeshift Studio, August 2020. Photograph by Andrea Yang.

An Inspired Roar

In a creative spurt, I created a YouTube channel where I interview lawyers who have rediscovered and reinvented themselves.

Andrea Yang
Published in
4 min readAug 19, 2020

--

I realize my experience of the pandemic may be atypical. I’ve been operating at a steady hum since March, liberated by a remote working arrangement where I mostly arrange my day as I like and no longer deal with Los Angeles traffic. The hum spikes periodically to an inspired roar, and it’s picking up in frequency and intensity.

The creative spurts come unexpectedly. Like when I completed my coach certification in April and birthed a beautiful website for my coaching practice just three days later. Or in the last few weeks, when I’ve been inspired to create a YouTube channel. A channel where I interview lawyers who rediscovered and reinvented themselves, blending their legal training with their lifelong passions. There’s Eric the litigator who recently published his first novel; Allyn the professional dancer who helps artists with their legal issues; and Autumn the public defender turned immigration lawyer who now lives in the Colorado mountains. More are on the way, and it’s been fun rallying my attorney friends to participate.

In hindsight, this YouTube channel was inevitable. I’m a former lawyer turned career coach, who basically got tired of living a misaligned life, following the expectations of others, and chasing external validation. So of course I’m fascinated by people’s transformations, especially those of lawyers. What were their moments of breakdown and how did they break through? How do they navigate cycles of change, and how do the recovery periods shorten? What does life look like now, and how are they continuing to evolve?

This YouTube channel is also inevitable because I’ve been craving a stage all year. A stage to broadcast messages of inspiration and practical strategies for transformation. A stage to play and connect with my guests, riffing with them and exploring whatever presents itself at any moment. A stage where I get to bring my ideas, scripts, and outlines to life. I didn’t anticipate the YouTube format of this stage, but it makes perfect sense after months of playing improv online, taking my creative writing class, and being on countless Zoom calls.

I bought a bunch of gear for my project, including mics for my laptop and phone, photography lights, an external hard drive, and a webcam. I have a makeshift studio, where I’ve stacked yoga blocks on my coffee table to elevate my laptop and overdue library books to support the table microphone. I’ve swapped out framed 5x7 photos on the backdrop wall in favor of landscape art previously in my bedroom. The sunset shot of coastal cliffs fills the camera frame perfectly.

It’s been a whole production this week, waking up at 6 a.m. to set up everything and get ready. I’m putting on makeup and using my flatiron again. It’s nice to look and feel put together, even if it’s only for an hour or so before I wipe it all off my face. My pores breathe better that way and I feel most relaxed barefaced. I’m done recording by 9 a.m., just in time for my workday to begin.

I’m discovering all these features on my laptop, an 8-year old MacBook Air I used to use only for Excel spreadsheets and Word documents. I’m playing around with iMovie and Descript, creating video bumpers, transitions, and subtitles. I feel sorry for my hard-working Mac when it’s uploading my videos to YouTube; the fan runs loud and everything is hot to touch. I hope it lasts a while longer.

The learning curve is steep. I’m learning that I need to tell my guests about the expected attire, and I can interrupt them when they start rambling. I’m learning to be more natural and comfortable with marketing myself — like asking viewers to like and subscribe to my channel, and to leave a comment below or through my website. Today, the words flowed more smoothly. I’ve made five videos so far, four of which I’ll release publicly. Really, I’m so proud of how much I’ve learned in such a short time.

I’m physically exhausted from this week of actual video production, a culmination of putting my initial idea into practice. Yet my spirits are high. It feels incredible to be creating and in this generative energy. My students are excited about the content, as are my interview guests, family, and friends. Even my mom and aunt subscribed and sent my videos to their friends, even though they have no immediate connection to my content.

I want to continue treating this YouTube channel as an art project, aiming for an eighth-grade excellence that will keep everything fun. I’m staying mindful of the moments when the desire for perfection strips the levity from it all, and not to let well-meaning feedback dishearten me. As much as I intend for this channel to benefit others, it is equally and fundamentally a vehicle of my self-expression. I’m calling the shots here, and I choose curiosity and fun as my guides.

I’ve yet to witness a YouTube channel quite like mine, particularly in the career development space. It’s a visual amplification of the lawyer podcasts I’ve heard to date, and I know I’m onto something good. I’m reminding myself to enjoy these moments of creation before the public release, because I have a feeling the quiet isn’t here for much longer. Welcome to my channel, everyone. It’s called Career & Life Chats with Andrea. I’m ready to fully shine.

--

--

Andrea Yang

Former litigator turned career coach. I help lawyers with professional development, career transitions, and holistic well-being. www.andreayangcoaching.com