Covid- 19, the Mother of a Crisis Virus

Kirsten Laurel Prather Caplan
HEART. SOUL. PEN.
Published in
8 min readMay 7, 2020

--

Celebrating Mother’s Day with 2020 vision on my priorities

photo taken with an iPhone by Kirsten Laurel

June 2018: I decided to leave the drama classroom and pursue my own theatre projects. There was a play and a solo show I wanted to write. I tried to avoid thinking I was a “stay at home mom” and more like a “stay at home artist.” The days were nothing like what I imagined. The family wanted to be heard and the home wanted to be clean. Both seemed to eat my time up and tug me away from creating.

After 18 months, neither project was finished.

My “stay at home” status felt demoralizing. I was a defensive mom, an unsatisfied artist, and a dour latent feminist. I spent a lot of time contemplating my age and journaling for peace of mind.

January 2020: I decided to break the home solitude. My theme for the year 2020, was “get on your feet”- enough Artist Way morning pages, enough essay writing, enough housecleaning- let’s sing, dance, and finish these projects. At this point, I didn’t care if my plays were good, I was determined to complete them. June 2020, the Hollywood Fringe Festival was my beacon, my light at the end of the “stay at home” tunnel. I created my 6-month plan. I rented a rehearsal space to audition my writing pieces and start performing. I had deadlines. I was networking with other solo artists, Hollywood fringe theatre owners and…

--

--

Kirsten Laurel Prather Caplan
HEART. SOUL. PEN.

Former Theatre and Diversity and Inclusion teacher, is currently writing and incorporating her best teaching to her own life.