One of the Craziest Things About This Year was Searching for the Perfect Mask

Even Amazon was having trouble keeping up with demand.

Gina Wingate
HEART. SOUL. PEN.
Published in
4 min readDec 29, 2020

--

After scientists and doctors went back and forth debating whether mask wearing would be helpful in preventing the spread of Covid 19, they concluded that it was not only beneficial, but essential for our health. So began my mask hunt. In the beginning they were scarce in LA. I am guessing it was the same all over. It took us by surprise. Even Amazon was having trouble keeping up with demand.

Figuring out which ones protected us the best from the virus was the first challenge.

Do I buy the ugly paper ones, the ones with a filter or the cute cloth ones with a floral print? My first mask purchase was a pretty black linen one I found online, with the word VOTE in bold white letters. I liked the statement and figured if I was going to wear something covering half my face it might as well say something meaningful. (What I would have liked for it to say was: WEAR A FREAKING MASK YOU SELFISH IDIOT!)

While waiting the three months it took to arrive, we bought a box of 50 paper surgical masks. They were super ugly, sporting a powder blue — I work in a hospital look. I hated them. But they did the trick, and I could sort-of breath through them. A requirement for me, as I’m a little claustrophobic and having something on my face exacerbates the feeling.

When masks became challenging, I tried an overpriced gator. It was super convenient to have it around my neck, only to pull it up when needed. Eventually word came out that they were ineffective. I put them in the hall closet hoping that they’d realized they’d made a mistake and they were good to go. Still waiting…

Before the pandemic I would complement girls on their shoes, jackets and purses, now I compliment masks and ask where they got them.

I tried a new mask that was homemade by a brilliant costume designer friend of mine.I had given her huge spools of elastic that I wasn’t using for her new mask-making endeavor. In turn, she made masks for my whole family. Mine had a fabulous monster-themed fabric that was doubled to prevent virus transmission. Although it was cute and made with love, I could not breathe through it.

At the check-out line in Erewhon Market, they had a plethora of masks. They looked soft and comfy, so I bought a few thinking, I found it, the perfect mask! They were luxurious feeling, almost cashmere like. But, alas, they had no nosepiece, making for foggy glasses.

Next mask trial was a grey flannel-looking mask, shaped like a duck bill. I looked ridiculous. They were advertised as 90-something-percent effective. They had a filter, which gave the illusion of safety. Having to replace the filter felt like a pain and something I had no desire to do.

A friend gave me a box of white very tight-fitting cone like masks. Her mom was a nurse and for some reason, unknown to me, she had extras. It seemed odd, as I continually heard about PPE shortages in hospitals. I gratefully took the box.

Now, mask selling has exploded.

They are everywhere. Gas stations, coffee shops, markets, 7 eleven and street corners. Designers like Prada, Gucci, and Versace have altering their supply chains to manufacture masks and overalls to help alleviate shortages. Entrepreneurs are popping up to make masks, hoping to supplement their lack of income or to just pitch in.

As important as mask wearing is, I hate that it hides smiles. It can be difficult to read people while only seeing the top third of their face. I’ve seen doctors put smiley faces to simulate a happy expression and put their patients at ease. Or they resort to putting a full-face photo on their chest to show that they are real humans.

I find it tempting to buy more masks daily. The blingy tricked out ones have an allure, but I stick to the plainer variety. Eventually we ended up buying a box of the throw away paper masks in BLACK. I do feel guilty about the disposable nature of them, as I’m an avid recycler and try my best to not pollute the earth with extra garbage. Keeping a reusable mask clean can be daunting while wondering if I’ve worn it too long and it has become full of germs… yuck.

My VOTE mask finally showed up.

It had taken so long, I forgot I ordered it. The package was a big surprise. As I headed out to the Farmers Market on a bright Sunday morning, I grabbed it and put it on. Unfortunately, it was suffocating, I could barely breath. But, since the election was looming, I wore it in spite of its lack of breathability. I wore it everywhere until November 4th, spreading the word to VOTE. After the election I traded in my VOTE mask for one that was not as cute and did not have a message on it. It is plain black. It doesn’t fog up my glasses. I can pretty much breath with it on.

I admit that I do not like wearing a mask. But I wear one, cute or not. Political message or not. Designer made or not. I wear a mask to protect myself and others from the spread of Covid 19.

--

--

Gina Wingate
HEART. SOUL. PEN.

Mom, wife , Ex-Costumer, Behavioral Therapist for kids with ASD, writer and animal rescuer.