Urinetown

Lana Druzar
HEART. SOUL. PEN.
Published in
3 min readDec 19, 2023

--

the next dive, a diaper-wearing military woman fighting Lyme disease.

Inside a chamber, forever changed from this ascent, descent into one

who publicly pees. I forgive myself. I cleaned the floor, I wiped myself.

Lana, let it go. Remember who I am. I just had a full bladder of IV in

Urinetown. Look around. I’m still here. Humiliation seeming ever-near.

Much to my humiliation, I had more stored up, URINE of

or not in the chamber, this yellow submerge is a top-10 shamer.Urinetown

A PICC line dangles from underneath a designer blouse,

again at Dr. Sultana’s office, in MD, a home, pseudo house

filled with the sounds of Lyme patients, families, IVs, doubt,

foot baths, hyperbaric oxygen chambers. An unreliable bladder.

I emptied it before entering one of the oxygenated submarines.

Much to my humiliation, I had more stored up, URINE of

no limits. Just in case, check on me, every fifteen minutes.

They did. Sort of, or maybe time just then slowed down.

I have to go. Now. Texting. Calling. Banging on the fake

Meanwhile, I avoid also soaking my blouse, socks, remaining

Too late. No one came. I stood up. Out came a lake

of yellow pee. I made my own yellow submarine. In the

chamber, on the floor. I can’t stem the tide, quick run

outside of the zippered submarine. I am still peeing.

In Urinetown. There’s a flood on the ground and now my

designer Theory pants are soaked to their labeled brim.

Meanwhile, I avoid also soaking my blouse, socks, remaining

I fashion a non-designer skort of paper towels and scrunchies.

Don’t look. I can’t stop the flow, I squeeze. This is

humor-ish humiliation. I make it to Dr. Sultana’s bathroom,

screaming obscenities at the yellow submarine and its trail

of pee pee drops. I’m 55. I find baby diapers in there, but no

towel, no robe, no emperor, nothing for covering the shame.

“Lana?” Don’t say my name.

I fashion a non-designer skort of paper towels and scrunchies.

I’m numb, devoid of any definable sensation, except frustration

away in the toxin-emptied sink, sniff, pants. There’s a faint stink —

of Urinetown, throw them in the trash. Rid evidence of my pee

that has finished its share with the public. I’m washed in baby soap

and hand sanitizer. I march a paper-toweled tush and humiliation

into the pseudo-spa room, squat in the sauna to let the heat soak

Add it to the list of humor-ish humiliations. I will be like an astronaut

I’m numb, devoid of any definable sensation, except frustration

and total, fucking resignation. Well, I’m human. I peed and turned

the submarine yellow along with its oxygenated healing vapors of

air. People have begun to stare. I don’t care. I finish an IV and enter

that spa sauna to collect Theory pants. Replace paper-towel of skort,

I look to shirk and skirt away as quickly as I can. From Urinetown.

Add it to the list of humor-ish humiliations. I will be like an astronaut

the next dive, a diaper-wearing military woman fighting Lyme disease.

Inside a chamber, forever changed from this ascent, descent into one

who publicly pees. I forgive myself. I cleaned the floor, I wiped myself.

Lana, let it go. Remember who I am. I just had a full bladder of IV in

Urinetown. Look around. I’m still here. Humiliation seeming ever-near.

And yet, tomorrow is another day. I choose to stay. Whether I pee

or not in the chamber, this yellow submerge is a top-10 shamer.

--

--