Winter? But I Am Allergic!

Dana Lee
HEART. SOUL. PEN.
Published in
4 min readNov 28, 2021
Photo by Garvit Jagga on Unsplash

When I was a little girl, I always wanted to play in the snow. But I learned very quickly that I had an issue with cold weather. I would break out in hives! Any area of my body such as my neck, hands, or face that was exposed to wind, rain, or snow would break out in hives.

This became problematic on those wonderful snow days when school was canceled. My mother said, “Well, you aren’t going to miss the fun. I bought you a snowsuit, so you will wear layers. Go outside and play in the snow!”

The layers helped, but I couldn’t move very well. This image reminds me of Ralphie’s brother, Randy, from the movie, A Christmas Story, where Randy is unable to put his arms down because his mother bundled him up so much. That was me!

So as winter continued, and multiple school days were canceled, my mother would yell, “Get your snowsuits on and get outside!” as she could not handle the three of us bickering in the house.

I had fun for a little while until the hives developed and I became so itchy. What would happen is that my face would be exposed to the cold or my mittens were wet, so my hands would be cold, and then hives would form. So on these days, I could not stay outside long. I would venture back into the house and gain some warmth and then head back out again after the hives went away knowing full well they would reappear. Over time, I became used to the cold weather and the hives as they go hand in hand.

There was a cure to these pesky hives: HEAT! The easiest way to get rid of hives was to take a hot shower. This drove my mother crazy because I would take twenty-minute showers and the cost of the water bill was always higher in the winter than in any other season.

My earliest memory of developing hives at school was in the 6th grade. I forgot to bring my mittens to school. Of course, it was a frigid day. The teachers forced everyone outside and my hands were covered in hives. When I came inside, all the kids in my class stood around my desk and looked at me in amazement. One student asked, “What is going on?” while another student said, “So cool!” I wasn’t embarrassed. I was itchy! I politely asked the teacher to go to the bathroom, where I turned on the hot water and ran my hands under the faucet until the hives went away.

I was young when the hives first appeared and the doctors believed most likely it was an allergy but eventually, I would grow out of it. Well, that never happened! I have the same condition to this day. So when winter arrives, I give a big sigh and say, “UGH!” Then I start to count down the days until spring as I hate the cold weather, but mostly it is the hives I hate.

A couple of years ago, I went to New York City a week before Christmas. I thought it would be an amazing trip and see the many sites New York has to offer especially around the holidays. Boy, was I wrong! It was frigid and the cold wind blowing was nonstop. As I was walking all over the city, I could feel the hives forming on my legs, face, and hands even though I was bundled up. I walked into a restaurant to get some relief from the cold wind. The waiter walked over to me and said, “Are you okay? Your face is really red!”

I went into the bathroom and looked in the mirror. Gasp! My face was a huge hive, all red and itchy!

I have been asked this question many times when I would be outside in the cold and someone would see me covered in hives. The person would ask, “Are you okay?” I would always reply, “I am fine. I am just allergic to the cold weather.” And I always get the same response, “Aren’t we all?”

I just leave it at that. I don’t want to explain that I have some sort of undiagnosed autoimmune disease and that I have had this condition since I was a child. So instead, I just smile.

Some people have asked me, “Why don’t you just move? If you can’t handle the winters, why not move to Florida or Arizona?” Again, my standard response is, “Well, winter is not all year round. I just manage it well. I bundle up from head to toe and take lots of hot showers during the winter.”

This condition never really bothered me until last year. Last winter, we got tons of snow. The kids wanted to go outside and of course, play with mom. I tell them, “Dad will take you outside and I will stay inside.” Their immediate response is, “We don’t want to play with Dad. We want to play with you.”

My children don’t understand that I have an allergy to cold weather and I tend to break out in hives. But I do go out for a little bit and the minute I come inside, I take the hottest shower possible and the hives eventually go away.

So when I think of winter approaching, I think of staying indoors, drinking something nice and hot, like a hot chocolate, or a cup of tea, watching the snowfall, from the inside of my sunroom wearing socks, slippers and double layers of clothes, since I am so allergic.

--

--