My New Love Has Changed Everything, Forever

I am a mother now

Phoebe Kirke
Heart & Soul

--

Photo by Garrett Jackson on Unsplash

I took a lot of time to prepare myself in the best possible way for this new, biggest chapter of my life. I had nine months to come to terms with becoming a mother. I did everything possible, bought books, listened to podcasts, and took classes. All because I knew one thing for sure: I would change fundamentally with the birth of my baby.

A lot changed, but not the way I was told.

I was told the days would be long and the nights too short. I should sleep through the night and enjoy it since it would be the last time. I was told that I wouldn’t be able to spend quality time alone. And not to forget, the love I would feel when seeing my baby for the first time would eclipse anything else I have ever felt. And that I will change as a woman now that I will be a mother. Honestly, a lot of that didn’t happen.

I still have the same needs, hobbies, desires, and dreams as before the birth of my son. New desires, hopes, questions, and concerns have surfaced for my son. And yes, I love my son with everything I have and more. And yet, a lot is the same. My partner and I joked that everything and nothing was the same. And yet, there are things I never imagined would change that are fundamentally different. Here are a few of my biggest learnings.

--

--

Phoebe Kirke
Heart & Soul

Feminist, activist, sister, but above all, hurt. Writing is my path to living life to the fullest.