A Chapter Called 2024

Alifya
Heart Speak
Published in
2 min readDec 18, 2023
https://www.pexels.com/photo/people-watching-the-fireworks-18068018/

Another year, here you come.

You came too soon. It seemed like yesterday when the clock struck twelve, and I welcomed 2023 with a warm hand. My niece took her first step that night.

Another year, here you come.

I am glad that you’re here with a million doors, fair chances, resolutions, and a bag of hope. This year, a lot will happen, I believe. If ten things go my way, twenty things will come as a surprise to my face.

Another year, here you come.

Even though, like a million others, I too will celebrate your arrival, I don’t think I am ready for the departure. Time ran like a cheetah, fast in the field, but how do I tell time? There are some things I do not wish to leave.

Another year, here you come.

But don’t worry; I won’t be sorrowful when you come; I will smile. I will use the lessons that 2023 taught me, fair and square, that being aligned with time is a partnership of a lifetime.

Another year, here you come.

I have big plans for you, my friend; I hope you hold my hand. I know you have many lessons to bring; I hope you will be kind to me as you teach. I know you will fly by fast; I hope we make the best until you last.

Another year, here you come.

It’s time to say goodbye to you 2023, you’ll be like an old friend about whom I will often reminisce. The time we shared the good and the bad. The days spent with you, some were a dream and some were memories that I will forever keep.

--

--

Alifya
Heart Speak

Educationist, writer, amateur artist and forever a reader.