A Plea To Time

Alifya
Heart Speak
Published in
2 min readJul 31, 2024
Photo by Andrik Langfield on Unsplash

Only if I could talk to time, I would sit with it calmly and explain the state of my mind. The things I would confess, the secrets I would share, the reasons I would give, just so time could let me live these moments for an extra sweet minute.

I’ll tell time why I want to hold on to it for my dear life.

The days of pain can only be replaced with the days of joy. I need my eyes to stay focused and bright as they capture each moment in detail and their emotional insight before it becomes a memory that stays in my mind like a distant shore, far away.

I would negotiate with time to let me borrow more of it this time.

Give me a second more to take in a houseful of chaos and days that were filled with blessed chores. Let me live in this world a little more, where I sniff my nieces and nephews as they hug me close. Stretch that moment a little more, where it’s just me, far from the bitter reality.

I will confess to time about the secrets of the heart and mind.

Only if it had rained more that day, only if I stayed, soaked, and spoke a little more. I would take that moment in and realize how unexpected this twist of fate is. If only the hour had lasted longer, maybe I could have made the memory fonder. Let me stay in that dream, where I get my happy ending.

I would plead with time to stay with me a little more.

I would politely ask the clock to slow down its ticks and tocks. I know you are in a hurry, but let me stay here at this moment for a little while. I know grasping you, is like grabbing water in my hands. But I was so happy and content with you while you lasted.

The good time is ending, leaving me with a setback. Even if it lasted for only a matter of days, this time I need to know that it’ll be okay.

--

--

Alifya
Heart Speak

Educationist, writer, amateur artist and forever a reader.