For Humanity

Asmi
Heart Speak
Published in
3 min readApr 8, 2024

“It’s great to be great, but it’s greater to be human" - Will Rogers

Photo by Caleb Chen on Unsplash

He asked me, “What do you like about me? What’s so special that drags you towards me?”

I honestly didn’t know the answer for at least two years. I thought I loved him because he was handsome, caring, and respectful.

After 2 and half years, I understood the reason when we were sitting in a restaurant. We were meeting each other after months. I enjoyed the food, drinks, and dessert.

We arrived outside, and I noticed he was staring at someone. In a few seconds, his eyes were filled with tears. I didn’t understand what was happening. I scanned everywhere to see whose activities he was noticing.

A man around 60 years old was working as a food delivery person. He lifted his bag and left on his bike. He was still looking at the old man.

I curiously turned to him and asked, "Why are you staring at him? Is there something wrong?”

Photo by Latrach Med Jamil on Unsplash

He replied, “I feel bad when old people struggle to work, i don’t understand why they have to do it?”

I smiled at him and said, "Some people enjoy their work. Some don’t have other options for money they have to do it.”

He said, “I feel sad.”

I replied, “This is the reality of society, let’s go!”

It’s been four years now. After experiencing this incident, I can definitely answer his question.

I got the answer, too. I love him for his ability to show kindness. He taught me humanity, which I never had. He showed me many beautiful things from his perspective.

I was selfish and self-absorbed. I never pitied the poor, I rarely helped needy people. I failed to understand the value of love. I didn’t believe in it. I lacked some important emotions, but my father and he always gave me life lessons.

Photo by Mary Oloumi on Unsplash

At present, I always thank him for making me kind and understanding the importance of humanity. You made me a better person.

He is never going to know the value of what he taught me. He feels kindness isn’t a special quality. It should be possessed by everyone. But he doesn’t know that not everyone cares about humanity.

I am thankful for changing my life.

Photo by Farhan Shaikh on Unsplash

--

--

Asmi
Heart Speak

Dreamy Drama 💟 wild women 🤷‍♀️ Fantasy Fondness 😶‍🌫️ Seren Spirit 🪷