I Miss the Promise of Family

Generational trauma and hidden secrets have forever changed everything

B. LeBoeuf
Heart Speak

--

Via Tyler Nix on Unsplash

Every day I scroll through social media and see happy, smiling faces of different people I’ve known throughout my life. They are on vacation, starting new jobs, at their kid’s basketball game on a Saturday morning, or planting a garden.

All of these people have impacted my life in some way or another. Some are old schoolmates, some are new co-workers, some are the moms of my kids' friends who have turned into my friends, and some are family.

I’ll admit, thinking about that last group makes me a little sad.

When I see a cousin, aunt, or whoever post something, I am happy for them and whatever they have going on in their life. But, I always feel a little nostalgic and somewhat broken-hearted.

I yearn for days, if they were ever truly there when we shared our news in person around my grandma’s kitchen table. I miss spending summers at my favorite cousin’s house and day trips with my sister, before life and our relationships got too complicated and somewhat irreversible.

I miss the promise of family.

I miss a time from before.

--

--

B. LeBoeuf
Heart Speak

Writer and social media guru. Proud mom and wife. Crazy cat lady. Vampire Slayer. Check: Today Parents, SPM & Scary Mommy. ko-fi.com/authorbrittleboeuf