On the Other Hand: How left-handed people cope in Nigeria.

HER🦋
Heart Speak
Published in
4 min readDec 18, 2023
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I never wanted to get this article published, but another extreme event that happened recently, pushed me to do this.

People would literally make you feel so insecure about things you can’t even control!!

What's written in here, is not to discriminate against anyone, it's simply just my experience, which I'm writing with a light heart. I sincerely apologize in advance if you may take some words offensive. Please do have a good read.

Born December 28 into a Yoruba home. Of course, It was when I started writing, they realized I was left-handed.

My father tried to change the fact I was left-handed, anytime I would take a pen with my left hand to write, he'd put the pen in my right hand. Although my mom told him not to.

Growing up in Nigeria was tough - the school tables were made for right-handed people. There was a catch to the way I write though, I’d have to bend the book a particular way. People would ask, "why do you write like that". I couldn’t really give a reason.

On a particular day, I was writing when a teacher came to ask me why I write the way I write, and she positioned my book for me. I told her that that's how I was born and changed my book to its normal position.

Eating was a nightmare because subconsciously I would put my left hand in my plate and get a resounding slap. Omo! I suffered o! Or you’d get immediately cautioned.

Eating in the public was impossible! The odd stares and snide remarks people were giving were enough to reset your hand sharply. People would start asking questions, and you’d just have to smile and nod.

Sometimes I would even forget I'm left-handed. If I handed over or received anything with my left hand, I was told it was disrespectful and devilish and brought bad luck their way.

My teachers would tell me I shouldn't write for them with my left hand, although it usually comes off as a joke. I would still play their word times without numbers in my head. But there was a certain teacher who really meant hers, I complained to the head of the school, so she decided to discuss it by holding a meeting.

One time somebody wanted to give me dirt to throw away I collected it with my right hand, he said "You don't use the hand you use to eat to collect dirt".
I said I use my left hand to eat.
He said, "Still use your left hand it's for dirt".

WOW!

My mother would tell me that I should cook with my right hand or wash the dishes with my right hand. Omo!! You had to do things a certain way to just get little acknowledgments. Although I never really listened. I couldn't see the wrong in it.

I have to honestly acknowledge that things are getting better though, There’s more awareness and there is left-handed equipment now available albeit in more developed countries. Nigeria and Africa will get there, eventually.

I would however like to use this day to create more awareness in my little corner on the left-handed syndrome.

IT IS NOT A CURSE! IT IS NOT DEMONIC!! IT IS NOT A DISABILITY!!! IT IS NOT BAD LUCK!!!!

I know our society still struggles with this, but I know it will get better with more enlightenment. Please parents and guardians, stop attempting to "correct" your left-handed children.

You may damage their neurological balance and their self-confidence. I myself have heard stories about people whose neurological balance has been destroyed due to these beliefs.

Educate yourselves, if you notice your baby picks or throws things with the left hand. Forbid family members, teachers, or nannies or help from rebuking them...it’s very depressing.

Everything a right-handed person does with the right hand, a left-handed person does with the left hand. We don't think about what hand to use to function just the way a right-handed person doesn't, and it isn't intentional.

It's so unfair to expect us to do otherwise. The right side of our brain controls our movements while the left side of the brain controls the right-handed person (which infers we are the ones actually in our right minds...LOL)

If you look around the world, left-handed people actually run it! Yes! Many world leaders are left-handed, the entertainment scene is full of successful lefties, the sports world as well, scientists, composers, in all works of life, lefties are super talented and intelligent! No controversy though!

--

--

HER🦋
Heart Speak

I write because I don't know what I think until I read what I write