Poem- Meeting Myself

Alifya
Heart Speak
Published in
2 min readSep 20, 2023
https://www.peakpx.com/en/hd-wallpaper-desktop-vsrra

I thought I saw myself, a reflection so sad, In my mind, I wondered, how’d I get here, so mad? The girl I glimpsed, lost in thought so deep, Her eyes were numb, her secrets she’d keep.

Pale was her skin, and fragile her frame, Invisible wounds, a heartache’s cruel game. She was shattered, I sensed her profound pain, and I approached her gently, to ease her strain.

She barely recognized me, but a smile I bestowed, Taking her trembling hands, I whispered, “‘Oh dear, oh dear, I have tasted those tears..” I yearned to share the joys that life would unfold, Days by the beach, sunsets, and sands, stories yet untold.

About the days she will smile, eye to eye. About how every puzzling piece will fall right into place. About the answers she doesn’t have; they will come to her naturally. About how to befriend worry and be friends with faith. I wanted to tell her so much that I couldn’t wait! But I couldn’t say those things; it wouldn’t be fair. She must experience that life firsthand

I embraced her tenderly, her tears I understood, I said, “Trust these words, and let go of what’s not good.” Above, a plan unfolds, everything in its place, As she is right now, she’s not a worthless case.

She gazed into my eyes, her longing plain to see, Finally, she saw herself mirrored in me. With newfound strength, her journey she’d embrace, Becoming the future me, with courage and grace

Alifya

--

--

Alifya
Heart Speak

Educationist, writer, amateur artist and forever a reader.