Rivers, Lakes, and Storms: Becoming Like Water for Success

Alifya
Heart Speak
Published in
2 min readNov 8, 2023
https://wall.alphacoders.com/big.php?i=514192

My mother told me to be like water, and I always thought that to be like water meant to be calm. Yet, I often resembled a swirling dust storm, charged with intensity.

However, one faithful day, as I was sitting by the tranquil beach, I witnessed the water showing its mastery with roaring and crashing waves. I understood that water was meant to be much more…

To be like water, cultivate yourself into a river. The way it crosses bends, and carves its way, no matter how big or small, rough or sharp the rocks and stones are in its path.

So I should be smart in my ways, figure out my routes, and find a path to overcome every challenge that awaits.

To be like water, still and calm as a lake, where fishes and ducks inhabit. Near every lake is usually a place to sit, admire, and be serene in the beauty of the lake.

So I should be calm and composed, with an aura so relaxed that whoever meets me at any time of day is left in awe of the mastery of contentment I have gained.

To be like water, a storm so vigorous and brave that it can shake or break anything in its path. Black clouds and the thunder it creates testify to its power in every way.

So I should have that courage, the immense strength within me, to wash away any troubles of the deep, dark sea. To know that I have what it takes not to be weak or easily broken.

To be like water, like a cup of glass, half filled or empty, but always necessary. So be like water, my friend. Be beneficial to others and yourself.

Be a person of good traits, a heart so pure, fresh in health, always transparent in intentions, and clear in actions.

I now appreciate this line with much more grace, when my mother told me to be like water, she meant for me to read between the lines.

That to be like water is a way of living life, in the most enchanting way.

Written by — Alifya Yousuf

--

--

Alifya
Heart Speak

Educationist, writer, amateur artist and forever a reader.