Silenced to the Pain

From song to poem

Jocelyn Joy Thomas
Heart Speak
Published in
1 min readSep 11, 2023

--

Photo by Author

I wrote this song fifteen years ago when going through a lot of emotional pain from a series of events in my life. Songs were my way of doing shadow work back then. Without music, it’s more of a poem…

Crawling from this inner turmoil,

Is that a demon calling my name with such care,

such longing?

To see the pain labored in every breath.

Where does it all come from?

My friend, how long have we dwelt here?

Here where they forgot about us.

Here where they left us to die.

Unburied, stoic, in a lost reverie.

Of untamed lust, of courage, burnt out

before we could give it our last ragged curse.

Our hands searching for a key that never

existed.

Out time, our lot, our vanquished,

malnourished, brilliant flames.

Seen last going out toward the crying

gulls against the foam of the sea.

Lost in the fog.

Like a thought started by halted,

disheartened, unsure, unsteady

and forever silenced.

Silenced to the pain.

Copyright, © 2023, Jocelyn Joy Thomas. All rights reserved.

--

--

Jocelyn Joy Thomas
Heart Speak

Author, spiritual teacher, and intuitive reader. Writing is my passion and purpose. My shop...https://jocelynjoythomas.company.site/