The Passing of Time: Journeying Through

A poem

Cecile Gerwel Proches
Heart Speak
2 min readNov 14, 2023

--

By: Cecile Gerwel Proches

As a baby…
You held me
Tall and strong
Hardly any cares
Enjoying life’s sweet blossoms

As a child…
You led the way
Hand in hand
I went along
You caught sight of how I was growing

The passing of time

As a teenager…
You slowed down
Fighting the whims of youth
Pointing out the folly of it all
But persevering

As a young adult…
You walked away heartbroken
As I sought my way into responsibility
You whispered,
If only…”

The passing of time

As a lass about to wed…
You slowly walked me down the aisle
Your arm tightly wrapped around mine
You told him,
“She’ll always be my baby”

As a mother…
You tenderly held my first-born
With fresh eyes
And time to digest
The miracle of life

The passing of time

As a mother of two now…
You slowly led them to the garden
Increasingly frail with time
You so appreciated their energy
No pressure for you to rush about anymore
But each hasty departure due to our life’s duties
Dug deeper as you lamented the forbidding silence

As a child in mourning…
I followed solemnly
As you were taken to your final resting place
This life’s last breath drawn
But you always quoted,
That new things are to come
So dwell not on the former

The passing of time

--

--

Cecile Gerwel Proches
Heart Speak

Social scientist, 'geriatric millennial', inspired by nature, poetry