Old enough to understand.

Jan
2 min readJul 29, 2024

--

Photo by Abhishek Koli on Unsplash

Perhaps one day we will figure out why it happened.

They say everything happens for a reason. Maybe that’s why we broke up. Maybe that’s why we met each other, but fate doesn’t allow us to be together. Maybe that’s why I got diagnosed, just so everything could be at a slower pace because I had a habit of rushing things. Maybe we’re destined to be together. Maybe you were here because god put you in my life to be a better version of myself. Maybe it’s all part of growing up.

When we’re going through tough times, it often doesn’t make much sense, and it’s easy to feel like a victim as if life is working against us instead of with us.

Before long, you’ll understand why this is happening. Soon enough, everything will make sense to you.

I don’t believe that terrible things like cancer and violence happen for a reason; that’s simply not true. I don’t think a higher power assigns these challenges to people who can “handle it.” These events are beyond my control and understanding. I don’t know why they happen, and I wish I could prevent them, but I can’t.

So perhaps everything happens for a reason. Maybe every breakup, every relapse, every heartbreak, and every mistake occurs because they’re guiding you toward something better, something more meaningful.

I can’t be certain, but I’m old enough to understand.

--

--