How I deal with creativity issues: Tips from a creative person, non so creative at times.

Miranda Gonzalez
Heartbest
Published in
5 min readSep 15, 2021
Credits to Rachael Gorjestani

Do you consider yourself a creative person? Someone who can have 30 ideas simultaneously flowing at a time, and suddenly you go *blank space*? You go bragging -or not- all the time about how creative you are and full of excitement for new projects and ideas to work on, but when you must put it up to work you have…. NOTHING??????

Well that is me, welcome to the creative non so creative club if you relate as well.

(Yes I know, the club name is not even creative but is to validate a point ok?)

Well, what was I talking about?

Ah yes, let me give you some tips that may serve you dealing with that lack of creativity when needed, nothing scientifically proved. Just a gal listing some bullet points that work for her and who knows, maybe they work out great for you. Even better than for me (let’s hope so).

  1. Know your references and have them present at all times.

Lacking inspiration or creativity? Keep inspiration boards for yourself, so you can come back and forth at any time, whether it is Pinterest, screenshots, YouTube links or saved content on Instagram. Get to know the type of stuff you like, stuff you would repost or share with friends and family, and most specially save content that click or make sense with your project or idea. Something that helps for me while working is…

Can I visualize the brand looking like this? Giving these messages? Using this tone of voice?

If I can answer 2 yes’ out of 3 then I go ahead and keep it for whenever I need it and flip it into something I can work with.

2. Always be on track of what’s new.

Keep up with trends, all of them (that matter to you and your project). Search for new design waves, voice tones, hashtags, content delivery channels, new platforms, even memes. It doesn’t matter if you’re only focusing on one specific area, if you’re a designer, a creative, a copywriter, or just someone looking for what’s new. Getting yourself involved on whatever new it’s out there will expand your creative flow, pop out new ideas you may not have before and will get you on a more realistic an open panorama of how you want and visualize your final work. Or sometimes just the starters, but that’s better than having a blank space, you can work it and develop it further through, enjoy yourself and experiment with it!

3. Don’t abuse on references.

I know this sounds contradictory with the first bullet on this list, but trust me… do not save everything that crosses your way! Remember, quality over quantity.

The problem with obsessive stacking of references is that once there’s too many, the head goes blank and originality and creativity sometimes may go absence, and you may have trouble transforming those visual ideas into something of your own.

Another problem you can have when over relying on references is becoming too dependent on them when it comes to new tasks, projects, content creation, or simply anything that requires creative thinking and creative projection.

It’s okay to have content to look up to and refresh ideas and get inspirited, but remember to keep your OWN ideas flowing. You’ll do better at developing your work when you feel it like yours, and you know it better than anyone.

4. Put your work and ideas out there.

This point is actually easier than it sounds. When saying to put your work out there, I don’t mean write a book and publish it, or have an art exhibit. It can go just by telling your work colleagues some fresh ideas you have, content you’re visualizing, new strategies or ways to portray your product or service. Key is to be a good listener, open to comments and compliments, justify why you think your idea will bring benefits to the project but mind as well to be receptive of features that may be added or discarded to polish the original idea.

But you don’t have to keep it in the professional side only, if you have any creative hobbies do it as well even if you’re thinking “I’m not that good” or “I only do it for myself”, trust in yourself and show your friends or on Instagram your drawings, pictures, poems, paintings, illustrations, whatever it is that you do. It is a great way to lose shyness and gain trust in you and your creative performance.

5. Always carry with you something to write notes.

And when I always say I meant it, whether is a little notebook or your phone, or if you find yourself in desperate times a napkin. Anything will do as long as you can put down ideas and look back to them when needed.

Why is it so important? I like to think there are no bad ideas, just some that are easier developing, some will take longer, some you may ditch for other reasons and some you are gonna keep and not action on them until later. The important thing is to write them down for you to analyze at that moment or later. Even if it’s late at night, and you are half sleep, if you get and idea, WRITE IT DOWN. Talking from personal experience now, I prefer to do this that might take me 5 minutes than having the regret the next day of not remembering that great idea I had in the middle of the night that I swore was going to remember.

So, keep in mind to always write down all your ideas.

And these are the 5 tips that have helped me and saved me a couple (tons) of times and that I keep with me all the time. Creative process are not linear or the same to everybody, since ideas and creativity flows in a unique form in everybody, but if some of these tips help you, let me know!

Thanks for reading

--

--

Miranda Gonzalez
Heartbest

But you can call me Mirmo. 22 years old. Brand Coordinator at Heartbest Foods