Why I joined Heartland Ventures

Cali Schott
Heartland Ventures
Published in
2 min readFeb 1, 2023

I was fortunate to watch two entrepreneurs while growing up in Erie, Pennsylvania.

One was my grandfather, whose Maytag Distribution company grew from a small retail shop into a regional leader across Pennsylvania and New York. The other was my mom, who owned a breakfast and lunch restaurant for 15 years before selling it to employees in 2022.

Thanks to these experiences early in life, I developed an appreciation and passion for starting and scaling businesses. Taking after my mom, I ventured into the restaurant industry, running a bagel sandwich food truck in Central Ohio alongside my husband from 2016 to 2021.

One of the reasons I joined Heartland is because it allows me to continue my entrepreneurial journey, but in a different way — helping other entrepreneurs grow their businesses.

I believe wholeheartedly in the firm’s vision to invest in entrepreneurs who create cutting-edge technology. Even better, those technologies ultimately support the success of industrial companies in America’s heartland.

Being from Erie, I know how important large industrial companies are in terms of supporting jobs and families in mid-sized, Midwest cities (and what happens if these companies leave or deteriorate).

These industrial companies are the backbone of many economies and communities, and Heartland Ventures plays a significant role in supporting their long-term growth and success.

I’m excited and honored to be a part of it.

--

--