“You lack the enthusiasm for this role”

Jobey
HeartyCulture
Published in
2 min readMay 17, 2024

--

A video call interview in progress

A few years ago, I appeared for a job interview for a Volunteering organization that required local representation. The role was interesting for me as it involved organizing corporate-nonprofit events. It meant meeting new folks across industries and increased learning about the nonprofit space. I had moved back to my home state, and this was the kind of exposure I was looking for.

The HR round went well. She felt I was right for the role.

The next interview was with the reporting manager. I was ready and did not require much preparation because this was up my alley.

The reporting manager was much younger, but it did not bother me. Also, my role was more of an ‘individual contributor’. After my initial spiel of what I bring to the role given my relevant experience in the past, she did not have any questions for me.

She said she would get back to me within a few minutes. I continued to be on call. She returned to tell me that I lacked the enthusiasm for the role and that I wasn’t selected!

I was stupefied that she found me least excited for a role that I joyfully expressed my longing for.

I guess the best enthusiastic response to it would have been, “If selected, I’ll be coming for your position.” Heck, it would have been a fun ending. But, thought let her have her way. It’s not entirely her fault, it's the culture of most organizations today.

--

--

Jobey
HeartyCulture

I am a Social Impact Communication practitioner rediscovering the beauty of life, and learning to guard my heart from exploitative influences.