Heath W. Black
The Cracked Lookinglass
1 min readAug 17, 2016

--

I saw a dude walking to work when I lived in SF, wearing his company hoodie, a bag with his company’s name on it, etc.

He saw a homeless guy, clearly amidst a health episode- not sure what was wrong, but the man was trying to sleep and having some serious body spasms. Tech-boy stopped and looked down at him then reached into his pocket, pulled out his phone, opened snapchat and added the impending selfie to his story.

I wrote his company’s name down and emailed them anonymously to tell them that they had a shithead in their midst. And that I’d make sure my company never does business with theirs.

I got to know that homeless guy over the next few months as I walked past him on the way to work. He was funny, witty, and always cared to hear how my days were going (some days, he was the only person that ask how I was doing and feeling). He knew we had catered breakfast, but never asked for us to bring him anything, even though we delivered him biscuits and whatnot regularly.

Of all things Silicon Valley, this is the thing that gets to me the most. The willingness to get excited about changing with world with your technology, but being content ignoring humans that need their humanity restored right now.

--

--

Heath W. Black
The Cracked Lookinglass

“Wonder rather than doubt is the root of all knowledge." Head of Product at Signalfire. Previously: Facebook, Reddit, Imzy.