Training by Watching

Tammy Bowcutt
Heaven and Earth Aikido
2 min readFeb 17, 2018

For the past four months or so I have spent dozens of hours sitting at the edge of the mat watching other people train. Sensei always tells stories of people training by watching. Before this year, I thought “yeah, right…” Now, however, I feel differently.

Admittedly, I have probably lost some of my timing and finesse since I have been off the mat. I have definitely lost endurance. But I think I have gained knowledge.

For the past few weeks I have noticed that I see transitions more clearly now. I see how to move your hands so that you don’t lose contact and how to move your feet more subtly so you don’t trip or slow down the next movement. I can see some of the flow and how to keep that from slowing down.

I am also noticing other people’s balance, or lack there of. I see how different people keep their balance, techniques for moving their center and keeping their body more cohesive.

I have also learned how to do techniques that I never did before this time. Hundreds of hours of mental practice have me doing the techniques beautifully in my head.

The real challenge will be in the next few weeks as I begin to step back on the mat. How much of that subtlety and flow will I be able to replicate in my own movements? How many of those techniques will I remember?

Training by watching is real. Of that I have no doubt. I guess we will see how good I am at implementing what I have learned.

See you all on the mat soon.

--

--