HDL Owners Getting Coffee…

Brett Poulton
Heinbail Dynasty League
3 min readJan 17, 2018

What better way to spend the off-season than grabbing a cup of coffee with a fellow owner from arguably the best Dynasty League ever. I’ll be picking him up in a 2016 Black Jeep Renegade. It has automatic start, power windows and locks, Bluetooth connection, a back-up camera, and 4WD…

In this first installment of HDL Owners Getting Coffee…my first guest is Mr. Scott Lederer; co-owner of Hillary Clinton’s Email w/Dave Hallahan, 2016 Heinbail Champion, 2x Division Champ, and most team points record holder (2016).

We first met each other I think it was 2012 my first season in the NL-only Keeper league, Scott was the commissioner and I had just taken over an abandoned team. A few years later we both took part in destroying that league. Scott walked away as commish as I wrapped up my 2nd straight title, RIP Jose. The responsibility of organizing the league mixed with the inevitable 3rd straight title by Milzy and myself sent everybody running for the hills. I can’t be too mad tho the HDL demanded a lot of time, and was just about to take off.

Steap and Grind

The two of us ventured into Fishtown. Scott’s choice of coffee shop was Steap and Grind. Definitely your A+ hipster joint. Just a bunch of people on their laptops who turned that coffee shop into their office. As Seinfeld joked on CICGC, “I bought a cup of coffee, I live here now.”

After I ordered an Americano and Scott a Cappuccino, Scott got the HDL conversation started by asking where I saw my team going forward. I mentioned my plans for the draft and how having the 1st overall pick could be huge. We talked rebuilding and what’s the best way to approach that decision.

We both agreed its much easier when your team is struggling. I discussed that point in this past season when Milzy and I both agreed this wasn't gonna be our year, with a 2–6 record, the clock finally struck midnight on Team BPou. Grabbing another 1st rd pick in a draft I feel has a ton of talent was important so I made the deal with Milzy’s blessing. Who would have predicted a 4-gm win streak and a winner take all Week 13 match-up.

That led to the conversation about that awful Falcone tiebreaker rule. We acknowledged the uniqueness in thinking you have rules covering every scenario but you learn you really don’t have it all covered when something unexpected comes up. The blame started at Falcone, then went to Calhoun before ending on Billy. That coward should have picked me like he swore he would.

Footage of our good time.

After finishing our coffee we walked across the corner to Philly Style Bagels for a bite. Scott mentioned the bagel place being Calhoun’s favorite in the city as we both agreed to Calhoun being a huge hipster. We both even ordered the same Everything Bagel w/ Jalapeno Cream Cheese. The bagel was good in my opinion and the coffee was so good I went and got another.

Scott’s car was done being inspected and ready for pick up so we headed that way. In the car we discussed the upcoming fitness challenge slap bet, relationship weight and Scott’s bougie runs around Beverly Hills when he lived out in CA. The fitness challenge is pretty straight forward to me, if you enter it and aren’t motivated by the pure desire not to be slapped and wanting to be the one slapping then not much else will motivate you.

That is it for the first installment of HDL Owners Getting Coffee…tune in next time to see who the next guest will be…

--

--