Overcoming Rejection Led Me To Speak At TEDx

Michelle Poler
Hello Fears
Published in
3 min readFeb 8, 2016

The idea of giving a TED talk as my 100th fear was something I thought about the moment my project went viral and I realized the power I had to inspire others. But to tell you the truth, I also thought that it was kind of a long shot and that I was maybe dreaming too big too soon. Nevertheless, I included it in the list as a possibility for my final fear. My husband loved the idea and decided to start doing what he does best: making things happen. So he researched all the upcoming TEDx events and their organizers. When we saw that TEDxHouston was just weeks away, we knew we had to get into that one, plus, they’re one of the best ones. We decided to contact the organizer and share my project with him. He replied right away expressing how much he loved what I was doing, but unfortunately they were only looking for speakers that had some sort of connection with Houston (which I didn’t).

At that moment I felt defeated, but I had two options: a.- thanking him for replying back and settle with his answer or b.- keep pushing. I asked myself: what’s the worst that could happen and went with “b”. I wrote a huge email listing all the reasons why they should accept me to speak at their event; I went all out. I waited impatiently for his response, but days passed by and my inbox had no unread TEDx messages. A week later, I received an invitation to speak at TEDxHouston 2015. For the first time in my life I experienced what happy tears feel like. I was crying not only because my project had made it to TEDx, but also because I followed my heart and didn’t take “no” as an answer. This showed me the importance of believing in ourselves and fighting for what we want. We cannot allow the fear of rejection to stop us. I could’ve surrender after the first “no” which made me feel helpless and defeated, but facing my fears showed me that the things we want the most are on the other side of fear, so, I went for it.

“I’ll be speaking at TEDx, yay!!! Wait, what? In front of how many people?”

I had 8 weeks to prepare myself as best as I could. I met with the best behavioral psychologist, my SVA professor Dr. Tom Guarriello, who helped me better understand my fears and how to structure the presentation. I met with branding expert and founder of the Master program in Branding at the School of Visual Arts, Debbie Millman, who added some “Debbie drama” to my presentation and helped me with the delivery of the speech. I also couldn’t have done it without the help of my husband and all my amazing friends who listened to my presentation over and over again until it was perfect, giving me such valuable feedback. I practiced tirelessly, while showering, cooking, cleaning, on the subway, in my sleep! I practiced so much I bet my walls know the entire script…well, at least my husband for sure does.

On Thursday, October 15th (my 4th anniversary with my husband) we traveled to Houston, and that Sunday I stood in front of 460 people including my parents, my brother, my husband, my in-laws and 3 cameras and got my first standing-ovation ever.

I couldn’t have thought of a better way to end my journey. A journey that started as a way to become a braver person myself but unexpectedly inspired millions along the way. A journey that changed my approach to life, my career and my aspirations as a human being. A journey that will not end up here; I will keep going, keep growing, dream even bigger and inspire more and more people to join this fearless movement.

--

--

Michelle Poler
Hello Fears

Speaker ~ Youtuber ~ Fear Facer Creator of Hello Fears and 100 Days Without Fear Go to michellepoler.com for more 💛