This Is My New Year’s Resolution, And It Scares The Crap Out Of Me

Hello Fears
Hello Fears
Published in
3 min readDec 14, 2016

I remember I was packing for my New Year’s trip last year, when I suddenly realized I hadn’t prepared my New Year’s resolution list. I was sure that during my trip I wouldn’t have the time to write my never ending list of resolutions, which would anyways end up being the same as previous years.

All my life I was sure that I wanted to be “the perfect person” who would leave a long lasting impression on others, I wanted to be that unconditional friend.

My priority has always been to make other people happy, even if it meant sacrificing my own happiness.

Name: Stephany Blanco
Gender: Female
Age: 29
City: Guatemala

Last year, I started noticing that I wasn’t the happy person others thought I was. No matter how hard I tried, I was not able to smile sincerely; not to myself, at least.

That’s when I made the decision to work on my New Year’s resolution. However, this time I had the intention to write it in such way that it had the potential to change my life forever.

I listened to my heart and tried to make my resolutions as honest as possible, making sure it reflected what I wanted the most. It was no easy task and it took me longer than expected. But, it was then and there when I realized that my only wish was:

To be happy and to do only the things that would make ME happy.

Simple resolution, two phrases I knew would be hard to fulfill and that required hard work. But I knew that if I could break the stereotype of the “New Year’s Resolution List” I would find my happy.

What drove me to face my fear was seeing myself in the mirror and understanding it was not going be easy but knowing it was worth the try. I owed that to myself.

Now I realized that every time I do something that makes me happy, I spread it to everyone around me with a spirit of joy. I realized that this way I’m not only happier, I’m able to make other’s happy. Apparently it is contagious.

In the same way I fought for other’s happiness, it was time to fight for my own happiness; and it demanded me to leave my comfort zone, which is terrifying for everyone.

My life changed in an incredible way, and I can honestly say I really feel HAPPY! I’m doing things that bring me joy every day, and above all I’ve accepted myself in my state of happiness. I’m no longer embarrassed to walk down the street smiling.

There are many fears out there, but deep down we are all afraid to be happy, and to do the things that we know would make us happy.

I know it can be hard to step out of your comfort zone, but before you know it you’ll be doing all sorts of things that will put an honest smile in your face.

And remember, we come to this world to be happy and there is nothing better than sharing a true smile that comes from your heart with those you love the most. Learn to be perfectly imperfect; and above all: MAKE THE DAYS COUNT, DON’T COUNT THE DAYS.

This story was translated from Spanish to English by Angela Pabon, with love from Colombia @angiepeibon

Submit your story of courage here!

If you liked this article please click the ❤ below

For more inspiration from Hello Fears, follow the YouTube Channel and Facebook Page. Also, check out Hello Fears’ founder, Michelle Poler

--

--

Hello Fears
Hello Fears

Hey there! It’s Michelle Poler, The Fear Girl, writing on behalf of a community of non-conformists who face their fears to find meaning and inspire others.