Traveling by Myself for the First Time

Hello Fears
Hello Fears
Published in
2 min readNov 15, 2016

This summer I decided to challenge myself and face one of my biggest fears, being alone. I did so by traveling solo to Oxford for summer school.

Name: Carla P.
Age: 16
Gender: Female
From: Caracas, Venezuela

I thought this experience could force me to get out of my comfort zone and approach new people, which I find very scary to do. Also, I wanted to get used to not only traveling alone, but to sometimes feeling alone.

When I arrived to my destination, I was terrified.

I realized that I was completely alone and didn’t know anyone there and probably wouldn’t for a couple of days. I thought I had made a huge mistake by doing this, but I couldn’t have been more wrong.

On the first day of summer school, I had already met so many people and had established my group of friends! I couldn’t believe it.

Although this challenge lasted only a couple of weeks, I can say I conquered my fear. It felt amazing to get out of my comfort zone, meet new people from all around the world and know that I did it all by myself, without having to rely on anyone else. I feel proud and accomplished and I can’t wait to do it again.

Any advice for others who are afraid of this?

Go for it! It feels amazing to leave your inner introvert and to get surprisingly rewarded for stepping out of your comfort zone.

Submit your story of courage through Medium or click here!

If you liked this article, click the ❤ below so more people can see it on Medium.
Many thanks!

For more inspiration from Hello Fears, subscribe to the YouTube Channel and like the Facebook Page.

--

--

Hello Fears
Hello Fears

Hey there! It’s Michelle Poler, The Fear Girl, writing on behalf of a community of non-conformists who face their fears to find meaning and inspire others.