10 Uncommon but Essential Traits of a Good Man

If he has all these, he’s a keeper.

Keith Dias
Hello, Love

--

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

The bare minimum

When I was a child, I was not expected to be responsible for very much.

The rules were clear:

Be respectful to everyone. Learn. Keep things clean.

These were not extraordinary responsibilities. They were the bare minimum. I knew, if I did not adequately perform these 3 responsibilities, I was not meeting my childhood expectations.

A responsible choice

As I got older, my responsibilities naturally started mounting. In many cases, I did not accept these basic expectations.

I have been a bad son, a bad friend, a bad brother, a bad colleague, and a bad partner.

Many times, I have hurt the people closest to me.

I have failed more times than I can count, in numerous ways.

I didn’t fail from ignorance. I failed in spite of my inherent knowledge.

There are basic expectations of each of us, as we age. We all know what they are. We just need to fulfill them.

--

--

Keith Dias
Hello, Love

Travel geek. Productivity nerd. Husband, father, son, brother, friend, joker. I once met Stevie Wonder. I’ve played competitive ball hockey for 30 years.