12 Love Lessons From My 12-Month Relationship With The Woman Of My Dreams

Love is nothing like in the movies.

Nicole Linke
Hello, Love

--

Before I met my current girlfriend, I hadn’t had a serious relationship in over 15 years.

Sure, there have been flings, flirts, and affairs. Still, I was never with someone where I felt mutual attraction on an emotional and physical level.

Part of it had to do with my bad habit of crushing on unavailable people. Part of it had to do with me not being interested in those who were chasing after me.

After an especially crucial heartbreak in 2019, I finally made peace with the thought that maybe a “serious” relationship would not be what the universe had planned for me.

I told whatever higher power was watching over me that I was ready to be alone for the rest of my life. But I was also prepared for someone with who I could share a healthy relationship with.

In short, I was done with relationship dramas.

And in a series of mysterious coincidences, I met her. I met the girl that perfectly fit the version I described when I created my perfect day. In the 12 months that we have been together, I learned 12 valuable love lessons.

--

--

Nicole Linke
Hello, Love

I talk about developing strength in body and mind. | Ultrarunner | Ultrarunning Coach | Newsletter: https://nicolelinke.com/newsletter-sign-up/