2 Unforgettable Pieces of Dating Advice For My 18-Year-Old Self

I was such an idiot.

Chris Wojcik
Hello, Love

--

Photo by Tibor Pápai on Unsplash

As a young man, I always wanted to be “good” at dating.

I thought that if I was a master of attraction and relationships, happiness would be impossible to miss me.

The way that I would get better at dating would be simple: practice.

Looking back, this was just my social anxiety attempting to use competence in romance as a method of escapism, but still, this mindset was a great motivator for learning how to get better at having better social and romantic relationships.

I’m about to be 25 and compared to my 18-year-old self, I feel like I’ve learned millions of dating lessons that could have helped me and saved me a lot of heartbreak and heartache.

The following 2 dating lessons have been more helpful than anything else I’ve learned.

I’m glad I learned them, even if it was the hard way.

Learn to navigate your heaviest emotions.

The stereotypical male-female conflict archetype is that the woman is overcomplicating the thing and the man just wants everything to be simple.

I spend a lot of time in the “bro world”, where men exaggerate this archetype.

--

--