3 Crucial Lessons From a Relationship I Stayed in for Too Long

What you view as a tragedy can very well be an opportunity.

Anangsha Alammyan
Hello, Love
Published in
6 min readFeb 16, 2021

--

Anangsha Alammyan on Instagram

When I was 18, I met a boy in college. He was everything I was not — extroverted, outgoing, full of ideas he was ready to share with the world. I, on the other hand, was quiet and shy. I’d instead prefer to be invisible than speak up and share what was on my mind with strangers.

I found his company fascinating. And before I knew it, our lives were intertwined. I was young and naive, and having a boyfriend felt so much better than being single. I didn’t understand the concept of compatibility and went along with whatever new adventure he brought into our lives.

As I grew older, I realized I didn’t quite like the man he had become. He was used to speaking on my behalf, and I didn’t want a knight in shining armor to always protect me. He was used to making decisions for me because I was too indecisive, but now, his help felt more like interference.

He hadn’t changed much. I did. And in the new identity, I’d carved, there was no place for him.

This shouldn’t have made me feel as guilty as it did, but somehow, I felt like I was responsible for his happiness. I should have told him and gotten it over with, but I stayed. This soured things…

--

--