3 Pitfalls to Avoid as You Date After Experiencing Trauma

Because you deserve to learn from my mistakes.

Amy Mehta
Hello, Love

--

Photo by Batel Studio on Unsplash

I made a LOT of mistakes back when I was dating. Decades of bad partners, stressful situations, & traumatic moments had me failing at relationships… hard.

“Self-love” and true “kindness” were not in my vocabulary. My scarred past led to my weak relationship-building skills.

Could it be the same for your dating game?

If you’ve been in survival mode for years like I was, I suggest taking a deeper look at what that may have done to your relationship-game. Trauma is defined as ‘an emotional response to a terrible event… rape or natural disaster’ (*www.apa.org). They also state, ‘after the event, shock, and denial are typical.’ Going through traumas can impact every aspect of your life.

When we go through it, parts of us will be stunted. Survival becomes the only focus, as it should be.

But there’s a fix!

I used quite a few techniques to retrain my own brain and get to a more comfortable and confident version of myself. Along with putting everything you have into healing your stuff, I also recommend some behavior changes that will ease the way in your relationships.

--

--

Amy Mehta
Hello, Love

Accounting Systems manager. I love a cozy couch and some good reading.