4 Simple Lessons From 2 Years in a Long Distance Relationship

How these challenging times made us a better couple.

Laura Kreuz
Hello, Love

--

Photo by Asad Photo Maldives from Pexels

When my boyfriend and I decided to try a long distance relationship, I was very skeptical. I wasn’t alone: my family and friends also said it was madness. They had a point. I knew we were against the odds. We are from different countries and each of us had a solid life back home.

Yet, somehow, after two years we made it work. Now we live together.

I can’t lie, those were challenging times. We had a 5-hours difference in our clocks and over 10.000 miles between us. It took patience, countless video calls, and a lot of love to get us where we are now.

But we took valuable lessons from those times that help us to be a better couple now. Even though nobody wishes to be so far from a loved one, my relationship is proof that it can be done.

In case you are facing the dilemma of a long distance relationship, here is what I’ve learned from that period:

You Cannot Control Your Partner

The first lesson from my long distance relationship is not very surprising: you have to trust the other person.

--

--

Laura Kreuz
Hello, Love

Crazy millennial who wants to change the world and loves writing. I write about marketing, relationships, and life.