5 Important Things To Know If You’re Anxiously Attached

How to find greater security and leave your insecurities behind.

Patrícia Williams
The Conscious Way

--

Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

If you’ve clicked on this article, chances are you have already identified your attachment style as anxious. Congrats! Not everyone is willing to look at their emotional wounds and be honest with themselves.

As you know, it’s not easy to navigate relationships when you have an anxious attachment style. You’re constantly looking for signs of rejection and you can’t effectively communicate your needs — instead, you use protest behavior like withdrawing or keeping score (more into that later!).

I’ve been there. I was incapable of having a normal, healthy, secure relationship. I’d either push people away or obsess over them trying to figure out if I had done something wrong.

But now that I’ve managed to change my attachment style to secure, I wonder how different my life could have been if I had come across attachment theory sooner, of if I had someone who helped me understand myself better.

To make it easier for you, here are 5 things I wish I had known, that I hope will help you navigate relationships smoothly from now on.

1. Get to know your (activated) attachment system

--

--