Licensed from Canva

5 Signs You’re Settling For the Wrong Person

Ending up with the wrong person is worse than ending up alone.

Published in
4 min readJun 3, 2021

--

In 2014, I dated a man who said he wanted to spend the rest of his life with me. Usually, a person in love would respond in kind. I just grimaced and tried to think of something to say. Finally, I came up with and semi-enthusiastic, “Cool!”

It turns out he was not cool with my lack of reciprocation. You know what else wasn’t cool? Allowing the relationship to go as far as it had while knowing in my gut that this was not a person I could love for the long haul. I don’t like the phrase, “Leading someone on,” but in this case, I was guilty of allowing the man to believe I was into him.

We went to dinners, house parties, game nights, and other events together, with me posing as the smitten partner. The smile pasted on my face belied my inner thoughts which scratched and clawed my brain, trying to make me see reason. They screamed, “He’s a good man, but he’s not right for you!”

There were so many signs that I wasn’t happy. Here are some ways to tell if you are settling for the wrong person.

1. You have to justify more than normal

Being able to compromise is the hallmark of a good partner. However, if you are justifying…

--

--

Writer interested in love, self, creativity, and chocolate.