5 Surprising Downsides of Being in a Relationship

And what to do about them.

Claire Lowe
Hello, Love

--

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

What if I told you that relationships could bring you problems?

People seek relationships to fix problems: reduce loneliness, feel loved, increase your self-esteem. We grow up believing that relationships make us happy. While that belief is not wrong, the reality is far more complex.

I learned the hard way that being in a relationship has countless downsides.

This idea struck me last Wednesday when my boyfriend, Jonathan, went out with his coworkers for a happy hour. He told me he’d stay for three hours and come home. As a good introvert, I cooked dinner for myself, opened a bottle of wine, and watched a romantic comedy.

So far, so good.

Three hours later, he texted: “Jake ordered another round of beers for the table.” Then, four hours went by. Then, five.

At this point, I felt stressed. It was a weekday, and I wanted to get up early the next day. And Jonathan knows I can’t fall asleep while he’s not home — not when I know he’ll arrive soon and wake me up.

He got home past midnight, a bit tipsy.

Now, I get it. Anyone could lose track of time. Besides, Jonathan is a sweetheart; he’d never get mad at me if it was…

--

--

Claire Lowe
Hello, Love

Self-proclaimed writer. I write for creators, lovers, and curious people. Open to gigs: claireslowe@hotmail.com