5 Things You Can Say Instead of Ghosting Someone

Let’s respect each other and be honest for a change.

Margaret Pan
Hello, Love

--

Photo by Liza Summer from Pexels

Like it or not, in our modern dating world, ghosting is a norm. If we’re being honest, each and every one of us has ghosted someone at some point in our lives— or someone has ghosted us.

In fact, according to this survey, approximately 80% of millennials have been ghosted by someone.

You’d think we would have all become desensitized to it by now.

I’ve been ghosted a couple of times and I’m not proud to admit that, when I was younger, I ghosted people myself. It felt easier. It seemed like the better option. There were no emotional confrontations and I didn’t have to worry about what the other person would think of me.

The (uncomfortable) truth, however, is that ghosting a person is the easy way out; it’s immature, disrespectful, and leaves the person you ghost feeling used and insecure.

So, what follows, are some things you can say to a person (instead of ghosting them!) to communicate your desire to end things that:

  • don’t sound awkward
  • aren’t offensive
  • are much more respectful
  • don’t make you look like a coward or an a-hole

--

--

Margaret Pan
Hello, Love

I write about books, relationships, and personal development. Contact: margaretpannmd@gmail.com Newsletter + more: https://linktr.ee/margpan