6 Changes in My Relationship That Led to My Engagement

Kirstie Taylor
Hello, Love
Published in
5 min readMay 3, 2023

--

Photo by cottonbro studio

Six months ago, I got engaged to my now-fiance. Yet, I know, without a doubt, if I were the same person I had been just five years ago, this engagement wouldn’t have happened.

Just five years ago, I was hurting my relationships without even realizing it.

A beautiful part about being human is the ability to reflect and learn from our mistakes. I’ll even take it a step further and say that it’s our responsibility, as relational beings, to acknowledge how we accidentally hurt others.

Through my reflection, I knew I wanted to do things differently in my current relationship than how I did them with past partners. Sure, I haven’t been perfect, but what matters most to both of us is that we're putting in the effort to become better partners for each other.

I made six specific changes with my now-fiance that you can begin doing today in your relationship.

I spoke up for myself because not doing so hurt me and my past partners.

I struggled so deeply with a lack of confidence that I believed I needed to make myself smaller to fit into other people’s lives.

I avoided verbalizing my needs and boundaries, even though I probably didn’t know what they were. All I…

--

--

Kirstie Taylor
Hello, Love

Want to feel confident and secure when dating? Grab my 30-day dating guide, "From Anxious to Secure." kirstietaylor.com/guide // IG: @kirstietaylorr //