How My Husband Takes Care of Me Emotionally

Heidi Thompson
Heart Affairs
Published in
4 min readJan 25, 2023

--

Photo by Microsoft Edge on Unsplash

The other day I read an article about how much emotional labor husbands do. Often, it goes unacknowledged.

The example Dr. Samantha Rodman Whiten uses is managing the finances.

In my marriage, I am the one who does this. But there are numerous other ways my husband takes care of us emotionally. I’d just never thought of it as emotional labor before.

Here are 6 of my favorites.

He Never Worries About Money

In the 10 years I have known my husband, he has never once expressed worry about money. I, on the other hand, struggle to feel safe around money. It’s a trauma from childhood I’m still working through.

His calming presence helps me be calm. He reassures me that we’ll be alright when I need to hear it. He’s not stingy and has never once criticized anything I’ve spent money on. He’s generous and wants me to have access to quality food and supplements even when the cash flow is slow.

He Wants Me To Be Happy

My husband doesn’t talk about his feelings very often. But one thing has been consistent since day one. He wants me to be happy.

When I wanted to sing, he learned the guitar so that he could accompany me. He learns all the songs I…

--

--