7 Unmistakable Ways You Self-Sabotage Your Relationships

Ashley Broadwater
Hello, Love
Published in
7 min readJul 30, 2020

--

Two people sit on the ground by a body of water, talking. #relationships #dating #communication #date #relationship #talking
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

When people become annoyed or yell or slam drawers, I recoil in fear. I shut down. My body shakes and I don’t speak. I wait for the storm to pass.

What if my words or actions exacerbate their anger? What if their reason for being angry turns into something I’ve done?

I rarely know how to handle conflict healthily. I’m terrified of it. I want it to pass, but I also feel tired after all of that waiting and hoping.

Likely for similar reasons, I struggle to feel good enough. People have hurt me so much in life and in relationships that I don’t feel worthy of goodness sometimes. I’m quick to blame myself when I perceive someone’s upset, whether that perception is accurate. I’m quick to think others don’t like me when in reality, they’re just not talking in their peppiest voice because they’ve had a long day.

I’m learning that some of these issues I struggle with have become ways I self-sabotage my relationships, and I’m working on fixing that. Let’s talk some of those ways and how we can address them.

You don’t tackle your relationship’s challenges head-on.

What That Looks Like

--

--

Ashley Broadwater
Hello, Love

Freelance writer on multiple platforms. On Medium: writing tips + relationships. UNC-CH Journalism + Media. Newsletter + more: www.linktr.ee/ashleybroadwater