7 Ways to Know for Sure We’ve Crossed into Red Flag Territory

These relationship warning signs aren’t ambiguous.

Crystal Jackson
Hello, Love
Published in
10 min readApr 16, 2024

--

Photo by Tim Gouw on Unsplash

It’s reasonable to say that I think a lot about my history of relationships. I’m not holding onto the past, not anymore, but I am trying to learn from it. I don’t want to keep repeating the same mistakes and playing out the same disappointing scenarios. I want to do better.

I’ve learned to recognize the signs of red flag territory in relationships. In fact, the simple recognition of these signs serves as proof that we’re either (a) ready for change or (b) have changed already. Sometimes, we have the self-awareness to recognize the red flags, but we haven’t done anything to change our situation. In those cases, we might be ready for change, but we’re not quite there yet.

There are several stages of change we experience: pre-contemplation, contemplation, preparation, action, and maintenance. It’s important to acknowledge where we are in the journey. It’s possible to contemplate and prepare for change without being at the point where we’re willing or able to take action.

Sometimes, we have the self-awareness to recognize the red flags, but we haven’t done anything to change our situation.

--

--