After 23 Years, I’m Committed To Being Single

Here’s why I have little hope left for a lasting relationship.

Camille Prairie
Hello, Love

--

Photo by Joshua Rawson-Harris on Unsplash

Do you want to know why I drink alone at bars? Of course you do.

It’s not so you can come over and “rescue” me. I’m not trying to send the signal that I’m available.

The chances are if I’m alone at a bar enjoying a nice night and live music I want to keep it that way. Me, myself and I.

Maybe you can’t wrap your head around the idea that I like to be alone but I’m going to do you a favor and tell you exactly why I like to be alone before you ask a very well-meaning girl out on Hinge or Tinder or approach someone at a bar next time you’re out with the guys.

Just hear me out, please.

When I’m Not Writing, I’m A Therapist

I had just moved back to my hometown a few weeks before I started this gig as a therapist.

I had gone out to dinner with someone I was close to and didn’t mind making myself emotionally available for on a beautiful weeknight and thought it a good idea to clear my head afterwards.

The sun was setting, I took a nice drive downtown and took a seat at one of Greensboro’s newest bars, enjoying a drink. Blissful people-watching…

--

--

Camille Prairie
Hello, Love

NC-based freelance-writer and semi-functional 25 year old navigating what it means to be an adult. Find me at https://camilleprairie.co