After Being Breadcrumbed, I Realized I’m Worth a Bread Loaf

You deserve someone who gives you all the attention and love you need.

Ashley Broadwater
Hello, Love

--

Photo by Kate Kozyrka on Unsplash

We wouldn’t talk for a week, then we’d go on dates and spend multiple nights together.

We wouldn’t talk for a week, then I’d be one of the hottest, kindest people he knew.

I could never fully comprehend where we stood or if this is what I wanted. My mood often depended on if we’d been texting or hanging out that day, or how long it’d been since we had last. These feelings were exacerbated by the loneliness I felt as many of my friends were living elsewhere and I didn’t have much to do.

Maybe that’s just what a casual relationship is, maybe that’s just not what works for me, but it felt a lot like breadcrumbing.

Breadcrumbing” is the act of showing interest only when the other person is losing interest to keep them holding onto the relationship. You “throw crumbs” here and there to keep them excited without much effort on your part.

Relationships that involve breadcrumbing may also involve power dynamics. “Breadcrumbers” have more power in the sense that they give attention when they sense the other person is pulling away. Breadcrumbers have more control over when they and their partner spend time…

--

--

Ashley Broadwater
Hello, Love

Freelance writer on multiple platforms. On Medium: writing tips + relationships. UNC-CH Journalism + Media. Newsletter + more: www.linktr.ee/ashleybroadwater