Be Careful Of The New Relationship Energy

And the problems with the inevitable new relationship ego.

Ellen "Jelly" McRae
Hello, Love
Published in
7 min readJul 20, 2022

--

The honeymoon period | Image created on Canva

As much as the feeling of loving my husband for the last ten years is the greatest joy I’ve ever known, there is one feeling that could trump it.

I say this with hesitation, by the way. This love I experience now is pretty damn good. And I don’t want to offend my husband. If you’re reading this, Andy, you know I love you.

But that one feeling that could trump this current love happened to be when our lips locked for the first time. And it lasted for months until the honeymoon period was over and we realised this was normal, everyday life now.

It’s that new relationship energy. Like a new car smell, you know nothing else can match this feeling in your life, right then.

You feel like nothing can stop you in life. You feel like the people on the pavement part when you approach. The happiness, excitement, and joyful energy you exude are something everyone wants to be around. You’re infectious in the best possible way.

I hate being the party pooper in the room, but take off the rose-coloured glasses and smell the dead flowers.

Because your new relationship ego isn’t all sunshine and blissful happiness for you, or the people around…

--

--

Ellen "Jelly" McRae
Hello, Love

I’m here to use my wins and losses in #relationships as your cautionary tale | Writes 1LD; Cautionary tale women's fiction | https://linktr.ee/ellenjellymcrae