Can a Long-Distance Relationship Last?

My relationship is a grand example love at a distance can work.

Alex Bentley
Hello, Love

--

Photo courtesy The Atlantic

Yes, it definitely can!

But it requires a lot of extra work from both partners. With that said, I’m currently in a 16-month long-distance relationship with my Filipina girlfriend. We’ve never met in person yet, as we met on Facebook.

Since the pandemic began, we’ve been trying to meet. Originally, we had plans to meet for the first time in the Philippines. I even had a flight booked for April 2020, but with country restrictions in place, it became impossible and I had to cancel my trip.

And with the pandemic, the world changed. It became an acceptable social norm to video chat on Zoom, Facebook Messenger and other video conferencing services with your friends, family and lovers.

Luckily, my girlfriend and I had already been video chatting quite a bit—every day for hours and hours. But staying connected through video has only strengthened our relationship. We even have plans to get married.

From my personal experience, here are a few things that will make a long-distance relationship a long-lasting one.

1. Give your partner space when they need it

--

--

Alex Bentley
Hello, Love

I write about crypto, personal finance, business & tech. Also, I publish a bit of humor to make you laugh.